New York

Historic Timeline
 1741 Fires break out in New York City, the 2nd largest black urban population.  Numerous blacks are accused in witch-hunt atmosphere.
 1783 Black Loyalists gather in New York City to for the British evacuation.
 1785 New York State outlaws slavery.
 1790 By this time, in the original 7 free states, slavery has been or is gradually being outlawed: Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Hampshire, and New Jersey.